Home > Introvert > Quality… Okay, I’m just lazy.

Quality… Okay, I’m just lazy.

I’m probably the poster child for quality over quantity.

I wish I were bragging. The fact is, I just don’t have much energy for stuff. If I have a cabinet or two full of dishes, they start collecting on my desk and living out of the dishwasher. With only a couple of each item, they get washed and dried quick. I take care of them.

Of course, this means durability has a higher priority. I don’t want to have to buy replacements, unless it’s something basic, utilitarian, and cheap. Otherwise? I am not spending more money on this, what the hell, I just bought this.

Ahem.

I do get more pleasure from beautiful items. And with only a few, as with clothes, it becomes more important. On the other hand, a slight tradeoff in durability is worth it if the aesthetics fit.

Durability keeps me honest. Aesthetics keep me satisfied.

This means I look for just a few, beautiful, lasting items. Yeah, kind of an expensive combination, but it’s worth it. This form of simplification is just a necessity for me. I almost wish it were a choice. I mean, do you have any idea how long it takes me to find a jacket I’m willing to buy?

Most importantly, it’s a focused, practical simplicity. It gets me out and searching for things I need. It helps expand the range of my life.

Whatever gets me out, right?

Categories: Introvert
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

