Home > mindfulist > Mindfulist 1/30: Delay

Mindfulist 1/30: Delay

Next time you go to make a purchase, big or small, delay. Make the delay twice as long for online purchases – notice any sensations that arise when you delay.

My problem is the opposite of most. I dither.  I’m not a big spender to begin with, on top of which I talk myself out of things.

Can you imagine what it took for me to spend approximately one thousand dollars for my DSLR setup, three years ago?

I knew what I needed. The research had been done. Doing the deed took very little time. For me, it’s better that way.

I quash things that I should get because they aren’t a “necessity”. Never mind things that are only wants, but honestly feed my emotional health.

Do you see where my skepticism towards being honest with yourself comes from?

What you resist, persists. Let it go and all that energy you’ve bound up, all that tension, just goes away.

Let. It. Go.

Categories: mindfulist
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

